Skip the Dew and Do the Hasselbacks!

After seeing several postings on Facebook and numerous pins on Pinterest, I decided to see what all of the fuss was about this weekend. I got all of the ingredients together and made Mountain Dew cupcakes. They were okay, but I didn’t think they were worth all of the hoopla that I have been seeing. On the other hand, I also fixed hasselback potatoes and oh my goodness, these starchy, fattening potatoes are simply amazing!

HASSELBACK POTATOES

Take a large potato and cut slices in it about 1/8 of an inch apart and don’t cut all the way down. Put potato in boiling water for 4 minutes and then remove and pat dry. Cut pieces of bacon and put them in between each of the cuts on the potato and then baste with butter and garlic. Bake for about an hour at 350 degrees, remove and add cheddar cheese and put back in oven for about 5 minutes. The bacon cooks up nice and crisp. Then when you are ready to serve add a big dollop of sour cream and some chives. The toppings that you could add is endless. The next time I make these I would like to try stuffing them with broccoli or cauliflower and of course the cheese.

BeFunky_DSCN3454.jpgBeFunky_DSCN3459.jpg

