Amish Friendship Bread…Thanks Friendship Bread Kitchen!

It has been over a year since I have baked any type of friendship bread and after reading a blog called The Friendship Bread Kitchen I had the urge to start baking again. I did not have any starter so I had to make my own, which was easy.

Starter Mix

Ingredients:

1 package of .25 ounce active dry yeast

1/4 cup of warm water

3 cups flour

3 cups white sugar

3 cups milk

This process takes 1o days so here is the break down:

Day 1

Dissolve the yeast in warm water and let stand for 10 minutes.

In a 2 quart container, *Not metal, combine 1 cup of the flour and 1 cup of the sugar.

Mix thoroughly, otherwise the flour will clump when the milk is added.

Slowly stir in 1 cup of milk and the dissolved yeast mixture.

Cover loosely and let sit on the counter.

Day 2 through Day 4

Stir the mixture.

Day 5

Stir in a cup of flour, a cup of sugar and a cup of milk.

Day 6 through 9

Stir only.

Day 10

Stir in 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar, and 1 cup of milk.  Remove 1 cup of starter to bake your bread and divide the rest of the starter into 1 cup amounts to either pass onto friends or freeze for later use. Once you have the cup of starter, you can omit the steps from Day 1 and begin the process over if you like.

After making the starter mix and feeding it and following the directions for 10 days, I was finally ready to bake my bread. I selected the basic Amish Friendship Bread recipe and decided to make a loaf for my cousin that recently had to undergo reconstructive breast surgery, and a loaf for my mother whom is a blessing to me.

Basic Amish Friendship Bread Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup of starter batter

1 cup of oil

1/2 cup of milk

3 eggs

1 tsp of vanilla

2 cups flour

1 cup of sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp of cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 box of instant vanilla pudding (5.1 ounces)

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup of walnuts (or other type of nuts…optional)

Combine starter, oil, eggs, milk and vanilla in bowl and set aside. In another bowl mix together all of the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the other mixture and mix well. Bake at 325 degrees for an hour in well greased loaf pans. Enjoy! Take the rest of the starter mix and divide it into one cup portions and either give it to a friend along with the bread or freeze it for later use.

I packaged a loaf and got it off in the mail for my cousin and took the other loaf and a bag of the starter mix to my mother. We were playing cards at her house that very night, so we all got to enjoy the bread. Why not bake some for yourself and your friends, it is fun and easy to do!

