Resolutions vs Personal Challenges

1-1-11…Let a new year begin. How many of you have made New Years Resolutions? I guess the bigger question is how many of you actually follow through with the resolutions that you make?  From my own personal past experiences I very rarely follow through. That is why I have chosen not to make “New Years Resolutions”. Good intentions do not mean anything if you do not follow through. That is not to say that I do not have the desire to make changes in my life. There are several changes that I hope to make, I just do not want to jump on the “new year bandwagon” and short change myself.

I have decided  to set personal challenges for myself for the upcoming year. These challenges, in my mind, are more likely to  be accomplished, than a resolution that I make on the first day of each year. What is the difference? A personal challenge, in my opinion, is the opportunity to prove to myself that I can make positive changes in my life, and resolutions are just words that I do not take seriously. They are said or written down, only to be forgotten in  a day, week, month or whatever the time frame may be.

With this being said, I have a personal challenge that begins today, that I would like to share with all of my friends. “Tam’s 365 day crafting challenge”. I challenge myself to complete at least 1 craft project per day. These can be new projects or completing previously started projects.  This is a fun challenge for me, and if I don’t meet my goal every day, so be it, I’m still having fun and that is the main thing in life to me, having fun and living my life to the fullest.

This customized piggy bank was completed on 1-1-11

My husband had to work last night, so my daughter Abbey and I rang in the new year by working on craft projects and playing Wii games. This piggy bank was a kit that I found on the clearance rack at Wal-Mart and decided it would be a fun project to do. I completed it very early this morning, so I can officially consider this my first challenge complete. 364 more craft projects to go.

 

