Straw Bale Gardening

Have you seen the straw bale method of doing a garden for those who do not have much space or don’t want to go to all of the trouble of tilling and all of the other hard work that comes from having a garden? I just want to plant a few different crops this year, so I’m going to give it a try. From the way that I understand it, you arrange your straw bales the way that looks pleasing to you, and dig a small hole in the straw. Add some dirt and the plant and you are all set to go. If anyone has any tips or suggestions, please let me know. I have 5 bales of straw and I’m planning on planting green beans, tomatoes, zucchini, and peppers. These I have started from seed and will transplant when they are big enough.

zucchini starts

green bean starts

From what I have read in my research they say that the straw bales should be planted by the end of May. I think I will plant some onions in the ground, as they are pretty easy to grow, and of course I want to do a herb garden with cilantro, dill, mint and maybe a few more herbs. If anyone has any tips for a relatively new gardener, please feel free to do so! I can use all of the help I can get.

