Diana Would Starve Today

What do you get when you cross 5 kids that dyed 2 dozen eggs a piece? Way too many Easter eggs to contend with. I brought over 2 dozen home with me, and was left with the task of deciding what to do with them. Salads of course. I peeled a dozen of the eggs and fixed deviled eggs to go with dinner, and spent last evening making dinner for tonight and tomorrow. Don’t worry Di, I won’t invite you over because I know your disguist for hard boiled eggs.

Deviled Eggs

Peel and cut the eggs in half length wise, and pop the yolk out into a bowl. Smash the egg yolks and add 1 cup of Miracle Whip and 1/2 cup yellow mustard. Add 2 tablespoons sugar and mix. Taste and see what is needed to suit your tastebuds. These are very easy, yet, I rarely make deviled eggs because I don’t like to take the time to hard boil them and then peel them.

Mashed Potato Salad

I had mashed p0tatoes left over from dinner last night, and with the abundance of hard boiled eggs I decided to make some mashed potato salad. This was prepared much the same was as the deviled eggs. Put mashed potatoes in a mixing bowl and add Miracle Whip, approximatley 1-cup, and 4 tablespoons of yellow mustard. Add chopped onions, and chopped celery and 2 to 4 tablespoons of sugar. Mix together and taste. Adjust according to your preferances.

Eggs prior to mixing and adding dressing

I changed things up a tad when making the egg salad. I prefer to use Helman’s instead of Miracle Whip in this recipe. Chop the eggs, add chopped onions and celery, 1 cup Helman’s Mayo, 2 tablespoons Yellow Mustard for color and just a bit of zing, and 2 tablespoons sugar. Mix and enjoy. This makes a wonderful egg salad that isn’t too sweet, and has just the right amount of zing to it.

All I have to do is throw some hot dogs in the broiler and heat up chili sauce and we have a quick and easy meal. I’m so glad that spring is here!

