In the kitchen

Arlene brought a coconut cream cheese mixture that went on crackers yesterday for Easter. It was delicious and she said that she ordered it from Party Lite. With the prices as high as they are, I didn’t want to order any from Party Lite, so I’m going to try to make some on my own. I’m working on Coconut flavored and a Pina Colada flavored cream cheese spread. I also thought I would try my luck at making some cookies that are similar to the Girl Scout Samoa cookies, so this will be my kitchen project for the evening.

Toasting the CoconutPreheat the oven to 300 degrees and place the coconut on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 5 minutes and then stir. Coconut will burn very easily, so continue to check on it, and stir until it becomes a nice golden brown color. Place in an air tight container and store in a dry location.  I will post the recipes for the cheese spreads and cookies later on this evening.

Toasted Coconut

