Easter 2010

What a lovely Easter, with the family all together and mother nature giving us such a lovely sunny day! This year we combined Easter and Britton and Arlene’s birthdays for one big celebration. The food was fabulous and the kids enjoyed the egg hunt and riding the power cars. I even tried my hand at riding the pocket rocket. Yeah don’t even ask…I pulled muscles that I didn’t even know existed, but I had to prove to myself that I could still do the same things that the younger one’s do. The difference is that I pay the consequences for my actions a lot easier than the younger generation.

The covered dish that I decided to take was a seven layer salad with a bit of a twist. Instead of using lettuce I used Rotini pasta spirals. Here is the recipe:

Seven Layer Pasta Salad

1-16 oz box rotini pasta-boiled and drained

1-12 oz bag frozen peas

1-30 oz jar Helman’s mayo

2 cups shredded carrots

1 head chopped brocholi

1 bag mexican mix shredded chesse

bacon chopped finely

Mix half the jar of Helman’s with the pasta and add about half of the peas, brocholi, and carrots and mix together.¬† Add a layer of cheese and layer the rest of the veggies. Top with the rest of the mayo, smoothed out over everything then add the rest of the cheese. Right before serving add the bacon so that it doesn’t get soggy. Any vegetables or salad fixings that you like can be added or substituted for the other ingredients.

Seven layer pasta salad

My next project was to make the Easter peeps for the kids gift bags and boxes that I made earlier in the month. These are very easy to do.

Lil Peeps

Insert sucker sticks into the bottoms of the bunny peeps, make certain that they go all the way to the top but don’t poke out. Melt chocolate for 40 seconds in the microwave and stir, if it isn’t entirely melted, put it back on at 15 second intervals so that you don’t burn the chocolate. Dip the peeps into the melted chocolate and let the excess drizzle off of them. Add candy decorations for eyes, ears, noses, etc. Have fun decorating them. Place on parchment paper and put in the refrigerator or freezer until hardened and then wrap with plastic wrap and add a bow at the bottom of the stick, if desired.

Easter Peep

My final Easter project was a experiement just for the fun of it.

After 30 seconds in the microwave

Peep Madness

Place a peep on a plate and microwave for 30 seconds and this is how much it expanded. The final pic is a normal peep and a 45 second microwaved peep. No they did not explode and make a mess in the microwave like I had heard they would. After they were removed from the microwave, they shrunk back to almost the original size. Makes one wonder what are in those little marshmellow treats huh?

Before and After comparison

Now I have to start planning for some summer parties and of course the 4th of July, and Christmas in July celebrations. Anyone that has any ideas or suggestions, please let me know.

