Child Hunger Ends Here Houseparty/21st Birthday Party for Abbey

I’m busy making plans for my upcoming party. I will be combining Abbey’s 21st birthday and the ConAgra Foods House Party that I was selected to host. The big event will take place on Saturday, March 27, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. at our home. If you know Abbey and would like to attend, please let me know.  As many of you know, Abbey is studying to become an elementary school teacher, and she loves children so I thought that combining the 2 parties would be a great birthday gift to my daughter. I’m asking each guest to bring a non-perishable food item to donate to CALL Food Pantry, and a covered dish made with at least one ingredient from the list below. A copy of the recipe is also requested, so that we can share it with the guests.

Peter Pan Peanut Butter

Orville Redenbacher Popcorn

Manwich

Chef Boyardee

Healthy Choice

Banquet

Marie Callender’s

This party is intended to raise awareness of the growing problem in America with hunger. The statistics are unbelieveable. In my research I found the following statistics:

35.5 million Americans (12.6 million children) don’t receive enough food to live a healthy, active lifestyle. This is unexcusable in a nation as great as the United States of America! When children miss meals they can be affected in many ways. For example, they may develop behavioral problems such as agressive behavior, show signs of hyperactivity, they often have a harder time getting along with peers and they are more prone to needing mental health services. These children typically don’t excel as well academically or physically as those children that have three well ballanced meals a day.  Often these children receive lower test scores, are excessively absent or tardy from school, and are at greater risk of suspension of school and dropping out of high school.

If we can all do just a portion to help the problem think about what this would mean in the total realm of things. As I make preperations for this party, I will add details to my blog. I hope to see all of my family and friends at this worthwhile cause!

