Spring Fever

Mother Nature is dangling the sights and smells and all of the wonderful sights of spring in front of our faces and before we know it, the time will come…SPRING!!! What better way to get ready for her grand arrival than to begin some Easter projects. This one is a gift bag that will hold some sweet treats for my nieces and nephews and grandbabies. I am making them in a variety of colors and patterns. I came up with this idea after watching Andrea Currie create some wonderful gift bags and embelish them with split peas.  With this project I started with an empty “Homestyle Bakes” box and painted it purple. It took several coats of paint to get it completely covered. While the box was drying I took a piece of parchment paper and traced a bunny, flower, and duck from cookie cutters.  I glued on split peas and soup beans to fill the design in, and then painted them. After allowing the paint to dry, a coat of modpodge was added and they were attached to the bag. I used a hole punch and put holes on each side and attached a floral print ribbon to use as a handle. These are so much fun to make, and the coolest part is that the materials that were used would otherwise end up in the land fill. Recycling is awesome!

