Writing on Demand

I woke up in the middle of the night with words that I had to write down before I forgot them. That happens to me at the most inopportune moments. I will think of something to add to one of my short stories, or a stanza to a poem that I’m in the process of writing. Anyhow, that made me stop and think about when I was in elementary and high school. The teachers would often give writing assignments with a specific theme, such as write a poem about an animal and give certain word requirements. I’m sure everyone knows exactly what I’m talking about. The assignments where you go home and write down anything just to say it is finished. I honestly think that is how my writers block developed in the beginning. One can’t be expected to write on demand. At least I can’t. My mind doesn’t work that way. I need to have time to think over the topic and run millions of little details through my mind. In fact, some of my best ideas take shape while I’m in the shower, driving down the road, or at some other inopportune moment in time. The best thing for me to do in that situation is to write these ideas down and the first possible chance I get. I have started carrying a small notebook and pen in my car, but that doesn’t solve the dilemma of writing things down while in the shower or when I have just woke from a dead sleep. I guess until they invent water-proof paper I’m stuck with the “as soon as I can” product.

