Procrastinator Gets Busy

     As February is fastly coming to an end I thought it was time to finally take down the Christmas tree. Well that and the fact that I’m hosting a party this Saturday and we need the room to set up the trap set and amplifiers for a jam session. Many of you may be wondering why I still have the tree up to begin with. Being divorced and remarried means splitting time with the ex for the holidays with my children and grandchildren, and of course fitting time into the schedule to spend with my parents, siblings, nieces and nephews, and in-laws. With this in mind, it has became sort of a tradition for me to have Christmas with my kids and grandkids after the holidays. Typically we do this within the first week of January, but for many reasons this past Christmas got pushed further and further into 2010. We finally celebrated Christimas 2009 the 2nd week of February. I know I could have taken the tree down after that, but it was so pretty and really what was it hurting? Last night I started removing ornaments and putting them away and now I’m looking at an empty tree that will soon be carted off to the basement until November.

     Like in the years past, I tell myself that I will buy a new tree at the after Christmas sales, again this didn’t happen. Maybe this will be the magical year that it does. I guess we will have to wait until 2011 to find out. Back to work, taking the tree to the basement and cleaning up all of the stray icicles.

